A couple of weeks ago, I was using my handy dandy Twitter account to exclaim to the world how much I dug Gay Veynerchuk’s book “Crush It” (if you’ve read it, you definitely know what I mean), and it just so happened to catch the eye of @bethanyawall who had also read and dug this inspirational book. After tweeting back and forth, I told her that I was about to dive into one of my favorite writers Seth Godin‘s new book Linchpin. We then decided that it would be a mighty cool idea to have a little blog-off, aka blog-collab on the book – oh the wonderful “Wow’s” of Social Media. (Check out Bethany’s blog!)

Godin is a brilliant thinker, writer, thought leader, and all around paradigm shifter. He has the ability to recognize and foresee trends before they happen, and has an incredible gift to communicate in such a way that allows people to immediately understand where he is coming from. He is a futurist, an idealist, and someone that I’d say everyone I have ever met could learn something valuable, even life changing, from.

After reading the introductory of Linchpin, what immediately resonated for me, was that this book is what I would deem as a libation full of liberation and perspective shifts that is needed in EVERY work place. Here’s a few quotes to back that claim:

  • “What if you could learn a different way of seeing, a different way of giving, a different way of making a living? And what if you could do that without leaving your job?” (page 2)
  • “For hundreds of years, the population has been seduced, scammed, and brainwashed into fitting in, following instructions, and exchanging a day’s work for a day’s pay.” (page 3)
  • “You have been brainwashed by school and by the system into believing that your job is to do your job and follow instructions. It’s not, not anymore.” (page 5)

I don’t know about you, but I just got a train track full of tingle’s up and down my spine, along with a stomach full of butterflies – All because I’ve always been excited to uncondition this overly conditioned society. And I think this book is really going to help.

I hope you continue to follow along on this grand Linchpin adventure, and I’d love to hear anything and everything you have to say about the book and/or what Bethany Wall and myself are saying. Lastly, I’d like to extend the invitation to you to also go out and buy Linchpin to further participate in blogging and/or discussion with us.

Haha can you read back words?

Cheers,

Chett

