(Disclaimer: Yes I am blogging about Seth Godin’s book Linchpin right now, but it’s in my nature to run off in tangents about things that I’m thinking – just a heads up)

As I continue to read and write about Seth Godin’s book Linchpin with Bethany (view her blog for another perspective on this amazing book), my optimistic cup that is always half full of inspiration, is beginning to pool over. We are reading and blogging about two chapters a week, and after reading the first two chapters, my mind already reminds me of a cartoon character that constantly has one light bulb after another floating above their head symbolizing that they have another “bright” idea, and I am a BIG lover of ideas – especially good ones.

This week I’d like to focus around Godin’s perspective on “Mediocre Obedience”.

“We’ve been taught to be a replaceable cog in a giant machine.

We’ve been taught to consume as a shortcut to happiness.

We’ve been taught not to care about our job or our customers.

And we’ve been taught to fit in.” (page 39)

I invite you to take a step outside yourself,  your life, and your surroundings. And now look at everything. What do you see?

Because this is what I see.

Why are we being raised in a society that teaches us how to survive, instead of teaching us how to live? Why are we taught how to conform, instead of how to thrive? Why do we struggle to be ordinary, instead of daring to be different? Why are we taught how and what to consume, instead of taught how and what to give?

These are all questions that have always bothered me, and Godin does a fantastic job at addressing these concerns in a way that really makes sense.

When we are young, we believe we can fly, we see imaginary friends, and truly think that there is a possibility that we could become a super hero one day. Where did our imaginations go? Where did our beliefs go?

Often times it seems that instead of leaping for something we want, we give into our existential anxieties, our fear of survival, and our lack of confidence to dictate how we live our lives. We begin to let this authoritarian society govern us, and herd us like a flock of sheep into conforming to a standard of living that is far below our true human potential. We cling to what we are told is safe, instead of digging deep down into the very depths of who we really are to discover what we truly want and desire. And than instead of creating that person who has the potential to prosper far beyond anything you would dream is imaginable, we turn into robots by “dumbing” ourselves down so that we can walk around being ordinary, average, and boring.

One of my favorite quotes is from my good friend Drew, he once told me that, “We are all artists, and life is our canvas.”

We all have the ability to create the life that we want.

So why don’t we do it?

I can’t get over how great this book is so far, it has helped me take some of my ideas and turn them into inspiration in many different ways (one being my idea for my first book!).

Stay tuned for more Seth-spiration, mixed with some Chett rants. And again, check out Beth’s blog for another perspective on this book.

Cheers,

Chett