I discovered my love for philosophy in what I’d deem as being rather late in College. If I could go back and do it all over again, I probably would have majored in Philosophy. But who knows, maybe I’ll revisit that path at a later date in life. However, I do remember what class I was taking that inspired that passion: Ancient Philosophy with Dr. O’Shaughnessy. One of the first books that we read was The Odyssey, translated by Robert Fagles. At first, it was a little challenging to try and get used to the twist, turns and rhythmical patterns that made the words dance together in ways that are far different in comparison to how we speak in the now “modern” world. But soon, I became enchanted with the dance. Enthralled by the characters. And spun on a mystical journey that invitingly captured me away from reality for hours on end.

The feminist in me, was rather bothered at times, especially when it came to the misuse and abuse of many of the women throughout the story. If I do recall correctly, I do believe that I actually mentioned that point in one of my papers. However, I still did not expose my thoughts to the idea of questioning, “What actually happened?” or, “What other possibilities could have been going on that dictated the way in which these women did behave?” and, “What were their stories?”

I went to the Penelopiad last night for my day of Continuation, and it did a fantastic job at answering some of these questions through creative interpretations. Here is a very brief synopsis.

There was a cast of 11 women, no men. And from the very moment that they stepped on stage I was enraptured into a world of mesmerization, which contained dance, song, anguish, reiteration and memories. The maids told their stories, of being abused when they were children, being orphans, and always feeling unloved. They kept repeating over and over again to Penelope, “We are the maids, the ones you loved, the ones you hurt, the ones you killed.” The Maids and Penelope all shared their stories while they were all dead and in the Underworld, together. Penelope went on and on about how her Maids protected her from the suitors in times of disarray and distress, and often times laid with the suitors in an attempt to distract their greedy paws away from Penelope.  When Odysseus had returned and killed the maids, Penelope said she was sleeping and had no factor in the decision. Which angered the Maids for Penelope had promised great, bright, and exhilarating futures to the ones who had been there for her the most. Now, they all reside in the Underworld, together. And Penelope is left alone with out the guidance, support, and love that the Maids had given her while she was alive.

I could easily go on and on about this. But instead of ruining all of the “goods’, I’ll stop now, and end by encouraging you to go out and see the play for yourself. It truly is amazing.